Given below is the List of all Presidents & Prime Ministers of India which is an important topic under general awareness, regarding Indian Politics.

It is important for any well educated and aware individual of the country to know the names of all previous PM and President of India. We recommend you to bookmark this page and come back often to it, to ensure they remain in your memory.

List of All Prime Ministers of India since Independence:

List of Presidents and Prime ministers of India




Time Period

Political party

1 Jawahar Lal Nehru 15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964 Indian National Congress
2 Gulzarilal Nanda (acting) 27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964 Indian National Congress
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri 09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966 Indian National Congress
4 Gulzarilal Nanda (acting) 11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966 Indian National Congress
5 Indira Gandhi 24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977 Indian National Congress
6 Morarji Desai 24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979 Janata Party
7 Charan Singh 28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980 Janata Party
8 Indira Gandhi 14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984 Indian National Congress
9 Rajiv Gandhi 31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989 Indian National Congress(Indira)
10 Vishwanath Pratap Singh 02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990 Janata Dal
11 Chandra Shekhar 10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991 Samajwadi JanataParty
12 P. V. Narasimha Rao 21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996 Indian National Congress
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996 Bharatiya Janata Party
14 H. D. Deve Gowda 01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997 Janata Dal
15 Inder Kumar Gujral 21-Apr-1997 to 19-Mar-1998 Janta Dal
16 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004 Bharatiya Janata Party
17 Dr. Manmohan Singh 22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014 Indian National Congress
18 Narendra Modi 26-May-2014  to present Bharatiya Janata Party

This list has mentioned the individuals who have graced the office of Prime Minister of India in chronological order. For the purpose of numbering the PMs, an individual is counted only one, and acting PM is not included. Hence, techinically, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is 14th individual to be a PM of India since independence.

As you can see from the table above that so far the prime minister’s office has been held largely by Congress followed by other parties.

Fun Fact: Manmohan Singh is first Sikh PM, and also the first prime minister since Jawaharlal Nehru to be re-elected after completing a full five-year term.


List of Presidents of India since Independence:



Time Period

Backed by Political Party

1 Rajendra Prasad 26-Jan-1950 to 13-May-1962 Indian National Congress
2 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13-May-1962 to 13-May-1967 Independent
3 Zakir Hussain
(Died in office)
13-May-1967 to 3-May-1969 Independent
Varahagiri Venkata Giri (Acting president) 3-May-1969 to 20-Jul-1969 Independent
Muhammad Hidayatullah (Acting president) 20-Jul-1969 to 24-Aug-1969 Chief Justice of India
4 Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24-Aug-1969 to 24-Aug-1974 Independent
5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed(second president to die in office) 24-Aug-1974 to 11-Feb-1977 Indian National Congress
Basappa Danappa Jatti (Acting president) 11-Feb-1977 to 25-Jul-1977 Independent
6 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25-Jul-1977 to 25-Jul-1982 Janata Party
7 Giani Zail Singh 25-Jul-1982 to 25-Jul-1987 Indian National Congress
8 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25-Jul-1987 to 25-Jul-1992 Indian National Congress
9 Shankar Dayal Sharma 25-Jul-1992 to 25-Jul-1997 Indian National Congress
10 Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25-Jul-1997 to 25-Jul-2002 Independent
11 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 25-Jul-2002 to 25-Jul-2007 Independent
12 Pratibha Patil 25-Jul-2007 to 25-Jul-2012 Indian National Congress
13 Pranab Mukherjee 25-Jul-2012 to 25 July 2017 Indian National Congress
14 Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 to 25 July, 2022 NDA
15 Smt. Droupadi Murmu 25 July 2022 onwards NDA


Evidently and (thankfully) both these lists do not see frequent updates. We still recommend you to visit this page on a regular basis and go through the names once in while. It’s helpful to quote thee name of President in some Modern Indian History Questions in various examination.

Study Material for UPSC IAS Prelims and Mains